Jayden Daniels, Michael Penix Jr. snag pre-Heisman awards

LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels and Washington quarterback Michael Penix Jr., both Heisman Trophy candidates, received additional awards Friday.

Daniels was named Walter Camp national player of the year and won the Davey O'Brien Award for top quarterback. Penix won the Maxwell Award for greatest player in the nation.

ASU transfer Daniels led the FBS in total offense (4,946) and scored 50 touchdowns. He ran for 1,134 yards and 10 touchdowns and passed for 3,812 yards and 40 touchdowns with four interceptions.

Daniels also won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award for finest upperclassman quarterback.

Penix led the nation with 4,218 passing yards, 33 touchdowns, and nine interceptions. He helped the Huskies (13-0) reach the CFP.

Kalen DeBoer, Penix's coach, won Home Depot Coach of the Year.

The Biletnikoff Award went to Ohio State's Marvin Harrison Jr., another Heisman nominee and outstanding receiver. Harrison caught 67 passes for 1,211 yards and 14 touchdowns, including eight 100-yard games.

Oregon quarterback Bo Nix, the fourth Heisman nominee, won the William V. Campbell Trophy for scholar athlete.

Payton Wilson of North Carolina State won the Chuck Bednarik Award for outstanding defensive player and the Butkus Award for best linebacker. The senior had 138 tackles, six sacks, three interceptions, and one forced fumble.